ESB-ITA17 | Awards

In agreement with the mission of the European Society of Biomechanics (ESB), consisting also in the promotion of the research excellence in biomechanics, the ESB Italian Chapter, during the VII Annual Meeting ESB-ITA 2017, will assign to young researchers the following Awards:


ESB-ITA Best Oral Presentation 2017

ESB-ITA Best Poster Presentation 2017

  • Eligibility requirements: presenter (corresponding to the first author) at most 35 years of age (at the Congress date).
  • Candidacy procedure: presenter (corresponding to the first author) has to declare eligibility to the Best Oral (Poster) Presentation Award following instructions detailed on the page Paper Submission.


ESB-ITA Master Thesis Award 2017

  • Eligibility requirements: Master Thesis has to be discussed in the period July 1st 2016 – June 30th 2017 and in an Italian University.
  • Candidacy procedure: the candidacy has to be proposed from the Master Thesis Supervisor by sending via email (to the address and before July 1th 2017:
    A reference letter containing a brief summary of the Thesis, as well as a short presentation of the candidate (at most 2 pages);
    The pdf copy of the Master Thesis.
    Among all eligible candidatures, the ESB-ITA 2017 Scientific Committee will select at most four Theses to be presented during a special session of the Conference and from which the best one will be selected.
  • Presenters admitted to this special session will be included in the list of the meeting participants without any registration fee requirement.

The award winners will be decided and awarded at the end of the ESB-ITA 2017 Conference.

ESB-ITA Master Thesis Award 2017: Final Stage Announcement
As a result of the review process of 17 submitted master theses, the Scientific Committee of the VII Meeting of the Italian Chapter of the European Society of Biomechanics (ESB-ITA 2017) has selected four Master Theses for the final stage of the ESB-ITA Master Thesis Award 2017 (ordered alphabetically by author surname):

  • Claudia Atzeni (Politecnico di Milano), “Modelling of leukocyte motion in hepatic sinusoids using the Volume of Fluid (VOF) method”;
  • Martina Genta (Politecnico di Torino), “Endothelial cells response to combined loading from flow and substrate deformation: a quantitative analysis”;
  • Andrea Mainardi (Politecnico di Milano), “Towards the knee on a chip: development of a microfluidic platform for the mechanical stimulation of three dimensional cartilaginous constructs”;
  • Elisabetta Monaldo (Università  di Roma “Tor Vergata”), “Modelling and simulation of fluid-structure interaction in arterial vessels via a multiscale constitutive framework”.